Claude Monet “Quotes” | French Impressionist Artist (1840-1926)

June 4, 2009

Color is my day-long obsession, joy and torment.

Everyone discusses my art and pretends to understand, as if it were necessary to understand, when it is simply necessary to love.

I am following nature without being able to grasp her, I perhaps owe having become a painter to flowers.

No one is an artist unless he carries his picture in his head before painting it, and is sure of his method and composition.

For me, a landscape does not exist in its own right, since its appearance changes at every moment; but the surrounding atmosphere brings it to life – the light and the air which vary continually. For me, it is only the surrounding atmosphere which gives subjects their true value.

Browse the Index for more great “The Art Student” resources

Bookmark and Share

