Jackson Pollock “Quotes” | American Abstract Expressionist (1912-1956)

June 5, 2009

Jackson Pollock Quotes
It’s all a big game of construction, some with a brush, some with a shovel, some choose a pen.

The method of painting is the natural growth out of a need. I want to express my feelings rather than illustrate them.

When I’m painting, I’m not aware of what I’m doing. It’s only after a get acquainted period that I see what I’ve been about.
The painting has a life of its own.

It doesn’t matter how the paint is put on, as long as something is said.

Every good painter paints what he is.

On the floor I am more at ease. I feel nearer, more a part of the painting, since this way I can walk around it, work from the four sides and literally be in the painting.

The modern artist is working with space and time and expressing his feelings rather than illustrating.

Jackson Pollock Biography
Paul Jackson Pollock (January 28, 1912 –August 11, 1956) was an influential American painter and a major figure in the abstract expressionist movement. In October 1945, he married the artist Lee Krasner. During his lifetime, Pollock enjoyed considerable fame and notoriety. He was regarded as a mostly reclusive artist, but had a volatile personality and struggled with alcoholism all of his life. He died at the age of 44 in an alcohol-related, single-car crash. In December 1956, he was given a memorial retrospective exhibition at the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) in New York City, and a larger more comprehensive exhibition there in 1967. More recently, in 1998 and 1999, his work was honored with large-scale retrospective exhibitions at MoMA and at The Tate in London. In 2000, Pollock was the subject of an Academy Award-winning film directed by and starring Ed Harris.

Jackson Pollock biography continued on Wikipedia.org

Browse the Index for more great “The Art Student” resources

Bookmark and Share

