Andrew Wyeth “Quotes” | Realist Painter (1917-2009)

June 8, 2009

Andrew Wyeth “Quotes”
It’s a shock for me to go through and see all those years of painting my life, which is very personal for me. It’s a very difficult thing for an artist to look back at his work.

I dream a lot. I do more painting when I’m not painting. It’s in the subconscious.

My aim is to escape from the medium with which I work; to leave no residue of technical mannerisms to stand between my expression and the observer.

You think you’re developing and getting better and then you see something you did years ago. Looking at your early work.. sometimes it has a depth that surprises you.

One’s art goes as far and as deep as one’s love goes.

Artists today think of everything they do as a work of art. It is important to forget about what you are doing.. then a work of art may happen.

I get letters from people about my work. The thing that pleases me most is that my work touches their feelings. In fact, they don’t talk about the paintings. They end up telling me the story of their life or how their father died.

Andrew Wyeth Biography
Andrew Newell Wyeth (July 12, 1917 – January 16, 2009) was a visual artist, primarily a realist painter, working predominantly in a regionalist style. He was one of the best-known U.S. artists of the middle 20th century and was sometimes referred to as the “Painter of the People,” due to his work’s popularity with the American public.

Read more about Andrew Wyeth on Wikipedia.org

Browse the Index for more great “The Art Student” resources

Bookmark and Share

