Georgia O’Keeffe “Quotes” | American Artist (1887-1986

June 9, 2009

Georgia O’Keeffe “Quotes”
So I said to myself, I’ll paint what I see-what the flower is to me but I’ll paint it big and they will be surprised into taking the time to look at it-I will make even busy New Yorkers take time to see what I see of flowers.

Objective painting is not good painting unless it is good in the abstract sense. A hill or tree cannot make a good painting just because it is a hill or tree. It is lines and colors put together so that they may say something.

I don’t very much enjoy looking at paintings in general. I know too much about them. I take them apart.

Where I was born and where and how I have lived is unimportant. It is what I have done with where I have been that should be of interest.

I found I could say things with color and shapes that I couldn’t say any other way.. things I had no words for.

To create one’s own world in any of the arts takes courage.

Georgia O’Keeffe Biography
Georgia Totto O’Keeffe (November 15, 1887 – March 6, 1986) was an American artist. Born near Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, Georgia O’Keeffe has been a major figure in American art since the 1920s. She received widespread recognition for her technical contributions, as well as for challenging the boundaries of modern American artistic style.

Read more about Georgia O’Keeffe on Wikipedia.org

Browse the Index for more great “The Art Student” resources

Bookmark and Share

